State Employment Law Update, October 2013
While changes in federal law grab most of the headlines and the attention, changes that can affect employers are constantly being made on a state level across a wide variety of topics. For busy small business owners, keeping up with these changes can be particularly challenging. Check the state-by-state list below to find out about recent changes in your state laws that may impact you and your business.
California: Effective July 1, 2014, the minimum wage rate in California increases to $9 per hour.
Overtime compensation rules for domestic workers in California are revised effective January 1, 2014, through 2016, unless extended.
Under California law, an employer’s business license may be suspended or revoked for retaliation against employees on the basis of citizenship and immigration status. In addition, a civil penalty of up to $10,000 may be applied for each violation.
Delaware: Volunteer emergency responders are protected from employer discrimination or discipline stemming from their volunteer responsibilities.
Illinois: Effective January 1, 2014, the prohibition against employer requests for information about an employee’s social networking profile or website applies only to an employee’s personal account.
Montana: Effective January 1, 2014, the minimum wage rate in Montana is $7.90 per hour.
New Jersey: Effective December 1, 2013, employers are prohibited from requiring employees and job applicants to disclose user names, passwords, or other means for accessing accounts or service through electronic communications devices.
New Jersey employers cannot retaliate against an employee for requesting from a current or former employee information about their job title and compensation, including pay rate and benefits, subject to certain conditions.
Oregon: Effective January 1, 2014, the minimum wage rate in Oregon is $9.10 per hour.
Washington: Effective January 1, 2014, the minimum wage rate in Washington is $9.32 per hour.