BizFilings Logo
800-981-7183

Alaska Minimum Wage Law

Filed under Managing the Workplace. Fact checked on May 25, 2012.

Article Tools

Employers in Alaska must conform with these state rules regarding the minimum wage paid to employees.

Alaska's minimum wage is $7.75 per hour.

The minimum wage in Alaska cannot be less than 50 cents an hour more than the federal minimum wage.

The minimum wage requirement covers most private employees but excludes:

  • agricultural workers
  • fishing industry workers
  • hand shrimp pickers
  • domestics
  • volunteers for nonprofit religious, charitable, cemetery or educational organizations
  • newspaper delivery persons
  • watchmen or caretakers of property that is not in use for four months or more
  • executive, administrative and professional employees
  • outside salespersons
  • workers searching for placer or hard rock materials
  • part-time workers under 18 years of age, working not more than 30 hours per week
  • houseparents at nonprofit educational or child care facilities
  • taxi drivers

The minimum salary for exempt employees in retail and service establishments who spend up to 40 percent of their time performing duties that are nonexempt is two times the state minimum wage for the first 40 hours of employment each week.

Article Tools

blog comments powered by Disqus
Next Article in Office & HR
MI: Minimum Wage Law

Employers in Michigan must conform with these state rules regarding the minimum wage paid to employees.

Read More »Next Article
Close