California Minimum Wage Law
Employers in California must conform with these state rules regarding the minimum wage paid to employees.
The minimum wage rate in California is $8.00 per hour. Effective July 1, 2014, the minimum wage rate in California is $9.00 per hour ($10.00 per hour effective January 1, 2016).
Higher minimums apply to city and county contractors in certain cities and counties.
The minimum wage rate applies to all employees, including undocumented workers. All employees are covered by wage orders except outside sales personnel.