Connecticut Minimum Wage Law
Employers in Connecticut must conform with these state rules regarding the minimum wage paid to employees.
Effective January 1, 2014, the minimum wage rate in Connecticut is $8.70 per hour.
Employers may pay learners, beginners and persons under the age of 18 a lower minimum wage of at least 85% of the state minimum wage for the first 200 hours of employment.
All employees are covered by the state minimum wage and overtime laws, except those employed:
- in camps or resorts that are open not more than six months a year
- as babysitters
- in a bona fide executive, administrative or professional capacity
- by the federal government
- as an outside salesperson
- in activities of an educational, charitable, religious, scientific, historical, literary or nonprofit organization where an employer-employee relationship does not exist or where services are rendered on a voluntary basis
- by a nonprofit theater that does not operate for less than seven months in any year
- domestics, except those in domestic service employment as defined in the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) regulations
- as head residents or assistants at a college or university
Wage orders are in existence for the following industries: beauty, cleaning and dyeing, laundry, mercantile trade, restaurant and hotel restaurant.