Illinois Minimum Wage Law
Employers in Illinois must conform with these state rules regarding the minimum wage paid to employees.
The Illinois minimum wage for employees age 18 and older is $8.25 per hour.
Employers may pay a reduced wage rate of up to 50 cents less than minimum wage, for employees age 18 and over for the first 90 days of employment. This reduced training wage does not apply to day or temporary laborers 18 years of age and older, or to employees who are 18 years of age and older and whose employment is occasional or irregular and is for a duration of less than 90 days.
Exempted from coverage under Illinois minimum wage law are:
- employers with fewer than four full-time employees
- many agricultural laborers
- domestic workers
- outside salespersons
- members of religious corporations or organizations
- students employed at an accredited college or university by the institution and covered by the federal wage law
- camp counselors who reside on the premises of a nonprofit organization if the counselor works 40 hours per week or more and receives a total weekly salary of not less than the adult minimum wage for a 40-hour week (counselors working less than a 40-hour week must be paid the minimum wage for each hour worked and room and board may comprise up to 25 percent of a counselor's total salary)
Camp counselors employed at day camps sponsored by nonprofit organizations are not subject to the state adult minimum wage if paid a stipend on a one-time or periodic basis and, if the individual is a minor, the minor's parent or guardian has consented in writing to the terms of payment before the employment commenced.
Limited liability companies (LLCs) are included within the definition of employer for purposes of the Illinois Wage Payment and Collection Act.