BizFilings Logo

Iowa Minimum Wage Law

Filed under Managing the Workplace. Fact checked on May 25, 2012.

Article Tools

Employers in Iowa must conform with these state rules regarding the minimum wage paid to employees.

The minimum wage rate in Iowa is $7.25 per hour.

Employers may pay employees who have not completed 90 days of employment a reduced hourly rate of at least $6.35 per hour for the first 90 days of employment.

Generally, all employees are covered, except:

  • bona fide executive, administrative, and professional employees, including persons employed as academic administrative personnel or teachers
  • certain persons employed by retail or service establishments with the majority of its annual dollar volume of sales made within the state
  • persons employed by an amusement or recreational establishment, organized camp, or religious or non-profit educational conference center, if it does not operate for more than seven months a year or if its average receipts for any six months of the year were not more than one-third of its average receipts for the other six months of the year
  • persons employed in the fishing and aquaculture industries
  • any agricultural employee who is:
    • employed by an employer who did not, during any calendar quarter during the preceding year, use more than 500 man-days of agricultural labor
    • the parent, spouse, child or other member of his employer's immediate family
    • a hand harvest laborer, is paid on a piece-rate basis, commutes daily to the farm and has been employed in agriculture less than 13 weeks during the preceding calendar year
    • other than a hand harvest laborer, is under 16 years of age, is employed on the same farm as his parent and is paid at the same piece-rate as those over 16 years of age
    • principally engaged in the range production of livestock
  • employees of a weekly, semiweekly, or daily newspaper with a circulation of less than 4,000
  • switchboard operators employed by independently owned public telephone companies with no more than 750 stations
  • seamen on non-American vessels
  • domestics

Article Tools

blog comments powered by Disqus
Next Article in Office & HR
TX: Minimum Wage Law

Employers in Texas must conform with these state rules regarding the minimum wage paid to employees.

Read More »Next Article