Maryland Minimum Wage Law
Employers in Maryland must conform with these state rules regarding the minimum wage paid to employees.
The minimum wage rate in Maryland is $7.25 per hour.
The minimum wage rate applies to employees in Maryland with the following exceptions:
- certain persons employed in agricultural labor
- a physically or mentally handicapped trainee
- someone working in an executive, administrative or professional capacity
- volunteers for nonprofit organizations
- persons who work for not more than 20 hours in any week and who are under 16
- outside salespersons paid on a commission basis
- persons who are 62 years or older and work less than 25 hours per week
- persons employed in the first processing, canning, packaging or freezing of perishable fruits, vegetables, horticultural commodities, poultry or seafood
- persons employed by an immediate family member
- persons employed in motion picture theaters
- persons employed in restaurants, cafes, taverns, drive-ins; drugstores, or other establishments that sell food and drink on the premises and that have an annual gross income of $250,000 or less
- resident or day camp personnel in organized camps in Maryland