Oklahoma Minimum Wage Law
Employers in Oklahoma must conform with these state rules regarding the minimum wage paid to employees.
Oklahoma state law provides that the state minimum wage cannot be less than the federal minimum wage. Therefore, the minimum wage rate in Oklahoma is $7.25 per hour.
Employers of ten or more full-time employees at one location or place of business or employers with a gross business of more than $100,000 annually are covered by Oklahoma's minimum wage law.
Excluded from coverage are individuals employed as:
- farm laborers in connection with raising or harvesting any agricultural commodity or connected with the operation or management of a farm
- domestic service in or about private homes
- U.S. government service
- volunteers in a charitable or religious organization
- newspaper vendors or carriers
- employees of a carrier subject to regulation by Part I of the Interstate Commerce Act
- employees of an employer subject to the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) or any other federal wage and hour law that is paying the minimum wage under the applicable provisions
- an executive, administrative, professional employee or outside salesperson
- a part-time employee for less than 25 hours per week
- work by a person under 18 years of age who is not a graduate of high school or a vocational training program, or a person under 22 years of age who is regularly enrolled in a high school, college, university or vocational training program
- feed store operators for the benefit of farmers and ranchers
- reserve force deputy sheriffs