Rhode Island Minimum Wage Law
Employers in Rhode Island must conform with these state rules regarding the minimum wage paid to employees.
Effective January 1, 2014, the minimum wage in Rhode Island is $8.00 per hour ($7.75 per hour for 2013).
Minors 14 and 15 years of age must be paid at least 75 percent of the minimum wage for 24 or less hours of work. However, any minor who works more than 24 hours in a workweek for any one employer must be paid the adult rate.
Most employers are covered by Rhode Island's minimum wage law. Exclusions include individuals employed in:
- domestic service
- federal employment
- activities of educational, religious or nonprofit organizations where employer/employee relationship does not exist, or where services are rendered voluntarily
- individuals employed to deliver newspapers, shine shoes, caddie, set pins in a bowling alley, usher in theaters
- traveling or outside salespersons
- persons under 18 performing services for their family
- employees working between May 1 and October 1 in resort establishments serving meals to the general public and open for not more than six months a year
- seasonal work in organized camps