Alabama Rules for Employing Minors
Employers in Alabama must conform with these state rules relating to the employment of minors.
In Alabama, various requirements are in place when employing minors under the age of 16, minors under 18 and minors under 19.
Requirements for Minors 14 or 15 Years of Age
In Alabama, work permits are required for minors under the age of 16 employed in any occupation. Therefore, minors 14 or 15 years of age may not be employed, except in agricultural service, unless the employer obtains and keeps on file an Eligibility to Work Form for each minor. The form must be available for inspection by authorities charged with enforcement of the child labor laws.
In order to employ a minor ages 14 or 15 in any occupation, except agricultural services, the employer must obtain a Class I Child Labor Certificate from the department of labor for each location where a minor would be employed. This certificate will allow employment only outside school hours and during vacation periods and only in occupations not prohibited by law. The certificate may be revoked or suspended if the minor's regular school attendance or performance is not satisfactory.
In addition, employment certificates are required for minors under 16 who work selling or distributing newspapers, periodicals, handbills or circulars or engage in any other occupation in a street or public place.
Requirements for Minors Under the Age of 18
For employment of a minor, ages 16 or 17, a Class II Child Labor Certificate must be obtained from the department of labor for each location where the minors would be employed.
Special rules apply for persons under the age of 18 who are employed as models and performers.
Requirements for Minors Under the Age of 19
Effective July 1, 2012, employers must keep on the premises where persons under the age of 19 are employed a completed Employee Information Form (provided by the department of labor) and proof of age, as well as time records in electronic or photostatic form, for the 60 days preceding the last day of the last work period recorded for each employee, stating the number of hours worked each day, starting and ending times and break times.
Documentation of proof of age may include a copy of a birth certificate, a copy of a driver's license or an identification card issued by a federal, state or local government agency provided the card contains the name and date of birth of the employee.
Employers must keep these records on the premises where the employee is employed or at a centralized location for at least one year preceding the last day of the last work period recorded.
Employers who do not use the Employee Information Form must maintain on the premises documents containing the following information for each employee under 19:
- home address
- phone number
- date of birth
- date of hire
- school of attendance
Employers must post a printed notice (furnished by the department of labor) in a conspicuous place where minors under the age of 19 are employed that states the maximum number of hours minors can work each day of the week.