Arkansas Rules for Employing Minors
Employers in Arkansas must conform with these state rules relating to the employment of minors.
Arkansas law requires all employers to obtain an employment certificate before employing any child under 16 years of age. The purpose of this certificate is to provide conclusive evidence of the child's age and educational standing, thus insuring that underage minors are not employed.
The employer must keep this certificate and make it available to the proper officials upon request. Employment certificates can be issued by the director of the Department of Labor or by his authorized representative.
Employment Restrictions for Minors Under 18
Minors under the age of 18 cannot work more than:
- six days a week
- 54 hours in any week
- ten consecutive hours in any one day
- ten hours in a 24 hour period
Minors under the age of 18 cannot work before 6 a.m. or after 11 p.m.
However, the limitations of 6 a.m. and 11 p.m. do not apply to children under the age of 18 employed on nights preceding non-school days in occupations determined safe by rule of the Arkansas Department of Labor.
Special rules for athletic programs. Minors 11 years of age and older may be employed as sports officials, referees or umpires in organized youth football, baseball, softball, basketball, or soccer leagues provided that there is an adult representing the state or local athletic program on the premises and that a person responsible for the program possesses written acknowledgment signed by a minor's parent or guardian consenting to the minor's employment.