Louisiana Rules for Employing Minors
Employers in Louisiana must conform with these state rules relating to the employment of minors.
Effective August 15, 2011, employers of minors in Louisiana, must keep on file an employment certificate for each minor, except for minors employed in:
- federally funded youth training programs
- theatrical, modeling, motion picture or television production
- musical occupations
- other performing arts
The certificates must be accessible on the job site or in the work area at all times to any officer charged with the enforcement of the child labor laws.
Under certain circumstances, such as athletic events, exhibitions, fairs, carnivals or events of a similar nature, and inventories at large department stores, blanket work permits may be issued by the Office of Labor for minors desiring employment. Work permits issued under this provision expire 60 days after issuance.
Restrictions Imposed When Employing Minors
Minors under the age of 14 may not be employed in any gainful occupation at any time with certain limited exceptions.
Minors under the age of 16 may not employed in certain hazardous occupations.
Hour restrictions. A minor who is 17 years old and has not graduated from high school cannot work between the hours of 12:00 a.m. and 5:00 a.m. prior to the start of a school day.
Minors under the age of 16 may not be employed for more than eight hours in a day or for more than six consecutive days in any week and for more than three hours each day or more than 18 hours a week when school is in session.
Effective August 15, 2011, minors under the age of 16 cannot work between the hours of 7:00 p.m. and 7:00 a.m. on any day; except from June 1 through Labor Day when the permissible hours are extended to 9:00 p.m.
These provisions do not apply to minors employed in the dairy industry.