Minnesota Rules for Employing Minors
Employers in Minnesota must conform with these state rules relating to the employment of minors.
In Minnesota, a minor 14 or 15 years of age must have an employment certificate to be employed on school days during school hours.
The certificate may be issued only for a specific position with a designated employer and requires parental consent. The school superintendent, or the superintendent's designee, is authorized to issue employment certificates.
Employers must require proof of age from any minor employee by requiring the minor to submit:
- an age certificate;
- a copy of the minor's birth certificate;
- a copy of the minor's driver's license; or
- Employment Eligibility Verification Form I-9.
Minnesota's child labor law exempts minors ages 11 through 13 from the minimum age requirements when employed as youth athletic program referees, umpires or officials for an age bracket younger than the minor's own age. Minors 11 through 13 may be employed as soccer assistant referees at events where the participants are under 14 years of age.
An adult representing the state or local athletic program must be on the premises where the event is occurring and a person responsible for the program must have the signed, written consent of the minor's parent or guardian.