Connecticut Overtime Pay Law
Employers in Connecticut must conform with these state rules regarding overtime pay for employees.
In Connecticut, work in excess of 40 hours per workweek must be compensated for at a rate of not less than one and one-half times the employee's regular rate of pay. Computation of overtime pay due employees compensated on a piece rate basis and those doing two or more kinds of work at different rates is authorized. Certain extra compensation, such as various premium rates, may be credited against overtime pay requirements.
Exemptions and Special Rules
Overtime pay provisions do not apply to a person employed:
- as a driver, excluding drivers employed by exempt employers, subject to Interstate Commerce Commission jurisdiction
- by a carrier by air or any other employer subject to the Railway Labor Act
- as a seaman
- as an announcer, news editor or chief engineer by radio or television station
- as police and firefighters
- as a cab driver for an employer in the business of operating taxicabs, if the driver is paid at least 40 percent of the recorded fares
- as a salesperson engaged in selling autos
- as a milk or bakery salesperson paid on a commission basis and working on a route
- as a beer delivery truck driver not paid on an hourly basis who is employed by a licensed distributor
- as a mechanic engaged primarily in the servicing of motor vehicles and farm implements employed by a nonmanufacturing employer in the business of selling those vehicles and implements — to the same extent that they are exempt from the FLSA.
- as an agricultural worker
Inside salespersons. Overtime pay provisions do not apply to an inside salesperson whose sole duty is to sell a product or service, and
- whose regular rate of pay exceeds two times the applicable minimum hourly rate;
- more than one-half of whose compensation for a representative period of not less than one month represents commissions on goods or services; and
- who does not work more than 54 hours per pay period.
Delivery drivers and sales merchandisers. For the purpose of calculating the overtime rate of compensation required to be paid to an employee who is employed as a delivery driver or sales merchandiser, paid on a base salary and commission basis, and not exempt from the state's overtime requirements, the employer's regular rate will be one-fortieth of the employee's weekly remuneration.
Hospital workers. Computation of overtime pay on a work period of 14 consecutive days is authorized for employees of hospitals.
Hospitals may not require a registered nurse, a licensed practical nurse or a registered nurse's aide to work in excess of a predetermined scheduled work shift, provided the scheduled work shift is determined and provided at least 48 hours prior to the beginning of the scheduled work shift. A nurse may volunteer or agree to work hours in addition to the scheduled work shift. However, the refusal to work additional hours may not be used as grounds for discrimination, dismissal, discharge, or any other penalty or adverse employment decision. Exceptions to the mandatory overtime prohibition apply.