BizFilings Logo
800-981-7183

Montana Overtime Pay Law

Filed under Managing the Workplace. Fact checked on May 25, 2012.

Article Tools

Employers in Montana must conform with these state rules regarding overtime pay for employees.

In Montana, work in excess of 40 hours a week must be compensated at a rate of at least one and one-half the regular hourly wage rate.

Exemptions From the General Overtime Provisions

Overtime pay exclusions exist for:

  • farm workers
  • resident managers employed in lodging establishments or personal care facilities who, under the terms of their employment, live in the establishment or facility
  • students in distributive education programs
  • people performing menial chores at private homes
  • child care for a head of household
  • employers' family members
  • volunteers for nonprofit organizations
  • handicapped workers
  • apprentices and learners for up to 30 days
  • 180 days of farm work by a minor learner if the learner is paid at least half the minimum wage
  • retired or semiretired persons doing incidental work as a condition of residence on a farm or ranch
  • bona fide executive, administrative and professional employees
  • direct sellers
  • participants in certain welfare-to-work programs
  • interstate motor carriers
  • railroad, express company, pipeline and water carrier employees covered by Part I of the Interstate Commerce Act
  • outside buyers of poultry and dairy products
  • vehicle salespersons, partspersons and mechanics
  • drivers or drivers' helpers making local deliveries
  • agricultural workers
  • employees at country elevators
  • taxicab drivers
  • certain houseparents and foster parents
  • employees of forestry or logging operations and guidepersons employed by licensed outfitters as guides, cooks, camp tenders or livestock handlers
  • certain outside salespersons
  • public safety employees
  • retail employees paid a commission plus at least 1 1/2 times the minimum wage
  • radio employees in smaller towns

Recreation seasonal workers. Students employed at seasonally-run recreation or amusement areas who are furnished with board, lodging or other facilities must be paid at least one and one-half times the regular hourly rate for work in excess of 48 hours in a workweek.

Health care employers. Covered employers must pay eligible employees who work in excess of eight hours a day or 80 hours in a 14-day period at a rate of at least one and one-half times their hourly wage rate.

Article Tools

blog comments powered by Disqus
Next Article in Office & HR
FL: Overtime Pay Law

Employers in Florida must conform with these state rules regarding overtime pay for employees.

Read More »Next Article
Close