Employers in Nevada must conform with these state rules regarding overtime pay for employees.
In Nevada, an employer must pay time and one-half an employee's regular rate whenever an employee works:
- more than 40 hours in any week; or
- more than eight hours in any workday.
This provision applies unless a specific agreement has been made between employee and employer providing for a scheduled 10-hour day with a four-day week.
Daily overtime applies if an employee to whom qualifying health benefits have been made available by the employer is paid less than $10.875 per hour. If an employee without available health benefits is paid less than $12.375 per hour, daily overtime applies.
Exemptions From the General Overtime Provision
The following employees are not covered under the overtime provisions:
- employees not covered by the state minimum wage provisions
- outside buyers
- retail commission salespersons whose regular rate is more than one and one-half times the minimum wage and more than half of their pay comes from commissions, with the representative period being, to the extent allowed pursuant to federal law, not less than one month
- bona fide executives administrative or professional personnel
- those covered by collective bargaining agreements providing for overtime
- drivers, drivers' helpers, loaders and mechanics covered under the Motor Carrier Act of 1935
- railroad employees
- air carrier employees
- drivers or drivers' helpers making local deliveries and paid on tip-rate basis or other delivery plan
- taxi and limousine drivers
- agricultural employees
- employees of businesses that net less than $250,000 annually
- automobile salespersons