Employers in Vermont must conform with these state rules regarding overtime pay for employees.
In Vermont, overtime pay laws apply to employers with two or more employees and overtime pay is generally due after 40 hours of work in a workweek.
Overtime pay standards of eight hours daily or 80 hours biweekly apply to hospitals, public health centers, nursing homes, maternity homes, therapeutic community residences and community care homes.
Exemptions From the General Overtime Provision
Overtime exemptions exist for:
- agricultural employees
- domestic service employees in or about private homes;
- certain persons working for publicly supported nonprofit organizations
- newspaper or advertising delivery persons
- taxicab drivers
- bona fide executive, administrative or professional employees
- outside salespersons
- students working during all or part of the school year or regular vacations
Overtime exemptions exist for the following if they are exempt from the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA):
- retail or service establishments
- seasonal amusement or recreational establishments
- hotels, motels and restaurants
- employees of a business engaged in the transportation of persons or property
- the state and its political subdivisions