Workplace Smoking Rules in Arkansas
Employers in Arkansas must comply with these state rules regulating smoking in the workplace.
Smoking is prohibited in all public places and enclosed areas within places of employment.
Employers covered: Employers with three or more employees; one or more employees for public places.
Written policy requirements: Employer policy not specified.
Posting requirements: Owners, operators, managers and other persons in charge of facilities must prominently post "No Smoking" signs or the international "No Smoking" symbol where smoking is prohibited by law.
No smoking areas: Smoking in doctors' and dentists' waiting rooms, hospital corridors, nurses' stations in hospitals and clinics, all hospital rooms (except private rooms) and schools buses is prohibited other than in designated smoking areas. In addition, smoking is prohibited within 10 feet of where fireworks are being sold. No smoking is allowed within the physical confines of day care centers licensed by the states. Smoking in enclosed areas, buildings or facilities of public elementary or secondary schools is prohibited.
The Clean Air on Campus Act of 2009 prohibits smoking on each campus of state-supported institutions of higher education.
Permitted smoking areas: The smoking prohibitions do not apply to:
- any private residence, unless the private residence is used for day care or a healthcare facility
- hotel and motel rooms rented to guests that are designated as smoking rooms
- retail tobacco stores under certain circumstances
- areas designated as smoking within long-term care facilities
- outdoor areas of places of employment
- all workplaces of any manufacturer, importer, or wholesaler and processors of tobacco products and all tobacco storage facilities
- all restaurants and bars licensed by the state of Arkansas that prohibit at all times persons under 21 years of age from entering the premises, under certain conditions
- designated smoking areas on the gaming floor of any franchisee of the Arkansas gaming commission