Arizona Wage Payment Timing Requirements
Employers in Arizona must comply with these state rules regarding the timing and frequency of wage payments.
All employers are covered by Arizona's wage payment laws.
Employees in Arizona must be paid at least semimonthly, with payments being not more than 16 days apart.
Employers whose principal places of business are located outside the state and whose payroll systems are centralized outside the state may designate one or more days each month as fixed paydays for professional, administrative, executive or supervisory employees and outside salespersons (as defined under the Fair Labor Standards Act). However, this arrangement may not be used for paying employees whose wages are subject to a collective bargaining agreement.
Employers may withhold wages for no more than five days, other than overtime or exception pay, from employees who are remaining in service.
However, employers whose payroll systems are centralized outside the state have the option of personally delivering wages to an employee no later than 10 days after the end of the pay period. Overtime pay must be paid within 16 days after the end of the most recent pay period.