Minnesota Wage Payment Timing Requirements
Employers in Minnesota must comply with these state rules regarding the timing and frequency of wage payments.
Minnesota's wage payment law covers public service corporations, persons or companies employing persons to perform labor or services on a project of a transitory nature, persons or companies employing any person to perform labor and migrant workers.
Employers must pay all wages due at least once every 30 days on a regular pay day designated in advance by the employer, even if the employee requests payment at longer intervals.
Unless paid earlier, the wages earned by an employee during the first half of the employee's first 30-day pay period become due on the first regular payday following the first day of work.
The following special rules apply:
- Public service corporations must pay employees at least semimonthly.
- Employers of laborers, whether transitory or not, must pay at least at 15-day intervals.
- Migrant workers are to be paid at least every two weeks.
- Strikers must be paid on the next regular payday.
For purposes of the wage payment law, wages are considered earned on the day the employee works.