Each state has different requirements for forming a limited liability company (LLC). Whether you are starting a business or incorporating a business already in existence, you'll want to understand the state requirements for LLC formation.
What is the cost to form an Alaska LLC?
At BizFilings, we clearly outline our fees and the Alaska state fees. When you view our pricing to form an LLC you plainly see:
BizFilings’ package prices.
BizFilings offers three incorporation service packages from which you can choose.
State fee for standard turn-around.
Our pricing clearly shows the state fee to form an LLC in Alaska with standard turn-around.
You will see the BizFilings and state fee, if any, for expedited turn-around.
Alaska has a 24-hour filing option, which is outlined in our pricing.
Our pricing also clearly displays the BizFilings and state fee, if any, for issuing a Certified Copy of the Articles of Organization.
What are the regulations for an LLC name in Alaska?
The LLC name must end with "Limited Liability Company," "LLC" or "L.L.C." Names cannot contain words pertaining to a city. The name may not contain language stating or implying that the corporation is organized for a business purpose other than the one permitted by the Articles of Organization. The name cannot be the same as or deceptively similar to that of another company incorporated or registered to transact business in the state.
What are the requirements for Member/Manager information in Alaska?
The following are Alaska’s requirements for the members/managers of LLCs:
LLCs must have one or more members/managers.
Alaska does not have a provision specifying where members/managers must reside.
Alaska does not have age requirements.
Inclusion in the Articles of Organization.
Member/Manager names and addresses are not required to be listed in the Articles of Organization.
What are the requirements for the Articles of Organization in Alaska?
The document required to form an LLC in Alaska is called the Articles of Organization. The information required in the formation document varies by state. Alaska's requirements include:
LLCs must list the name and address of a
with a physical address (no post office boxes) in Alaska. The registered agent must be available during normal business hours to accept important legal and tax documents for the business.
Some states require additional filings or steps at the time of incorporation, such as a county level filing, publishing notice of the LLC formation in a local newspaper or an initial report filing. Alaska requires the following:
Alaska requires LLCs to file an initial report with the state within six months of incorporating.
forming a limited liability company (LLC)
, you must undertake certain steps on an ongoing basis to keep your business in compliance. These steps are also important in preserving the limited liability an LLC provides its owner(s). This guide outlines the ongoing requirements for Alaska LLCs.
LLC taxes and fees
The following are taxation requirements and ongoing fees in Alaska:
Alaska requires LLCs to file a biennial report. The first report must be filed by January 2 of the year following incorporation and every two years thereafter. The report is considered delinquent if not filed before February 1 and fees and penalties may apply. The filing fee for the biennial report is a flat fee of $100.