Each state has different requirements for forming a corporation. Whether you are starting a business or
incorporating a business
already in existence, you’ll want to understand state requirements for Georgia incorporation.
Cost to incorporate in Georgia
At BizFilings, we clearly outline our fees and the state fees to form a Georgia corporation. View our pricing to incorporate as a
to plainly see:
BizFilings’ package prices.
BizFilings offers three incorporation service packages from which you can choose.
State fee for standard turn-around.
Our pricing clearly shows the state fee to incorporate in Georgia with standard turn-around.
You will see the BizFilings and state fee, if any, for expedited turn-around.
Our pricing also clearly displays the BizFilings and state fee, if any, for issuing a Certified Copy of the Articles of Incorporation.
The corporation's name must include the word "Corporation," "Company," "Incorporated," "Limited" or an abbreviation thereof. It must not exceed 80 characters, including spaces and punctuation. It may not contain language stating or implying the corporation is organized for a purpose other than that permitted by Georgia law or the Articles of Incorporation. It must be distinguishable from the other corporation names in the state. Use of words such as "Bank," "Credit Union," "Insurance" and "Trust" require approval by other state departments and/or commissioners.
The following are Georgia’s requirements for directors of corporations:
Corporations must have one or more directors.
Georgia does not have a provision specifying where directors must reside.
Directors must be at least 18 years old.
Inclusion in the Articles of Incorporation.
Director names and addresses are not required to be listed in the Articles of Incorporation.
Requirements for the Articles of Incorporation
The document required to form a Georgia corporation is called the Articles of Incorporation. The information required in the formation document varies by state. Georgia's requirements include:
Officer names and addresses are not required to be listed in the Articles of Incorporation.
Authorized shares and par value must be listed in the Articles of Incorporation. An increase in the number of shares or par value does not affect initial filing fees.
Corporations must list the name and address of a
with a physical address (no post office boxes) in Georgia. The registered agent must be available during normal business hours to accept important legal and tax documents for the business.
Some states require additional filings or steps at the time of incorporation, such as a county level filing, publishing notice of the incorporation in a local newspaper or an initial report filing. Georgia requires the following:
Georgia requires corporations to file an initial report (Initial Annual Registration) within 90 days of incorporating.
Georgia requires corporations to publish notice of the incorporation in the county of the corporation’s registered agent. The publication must be forwarded for publication no later than one business day after the incorporation date with the Secretary of State.
After forming a corporation, you must undertake certain steps on an ongoing basis to keep your business in compliance. These steps are also important in preserving the limited liability a corporation provides its owners. This guide outlines the ongoing requirements for Georgia corporations.
Georgia corporate records
Georgia corporations must keep the following items with their corporate records at the principal place of business:
Minutes from all meetings of directors and shareholders
A record of actions taken by shareholder or directors without a meeting
A record of all actions taken by a committee of the board of directors in place of the full board of directors
A record of shareholders, including their names and addresses, listed alphabetically by class of stock
Georgia corporate taxes and fees
The following are taxation requirements and ongoing fees in Georgia:
Annual report and franchise tax.
Georgia requires corporations to file an annual report, which is due April 1 and has a filing fee of $50. Georgia also has a franchise tax, which is calculated based on the corporation’s paid-in capital. The franchise tax is due on or before the 15th day of the third month following the beginning of the corporation’s taxable period.