Each state has different requirements for forming a limited liability company (LLC). Whether you are starting a business or incorporating a business already in existence, you'll want to understand the state requirements for LLC formation.
Cost to form a Tennessee LLC
At BizFilings, we clearly outline our fees and the Tennessee state fees. When you view our pricing to form an LLC you plainly see:
BizFilings’ package prices.
BizFilings offers three incorporation service packages from which you can choose.
State fee for standard turn-around.
Our pricing clearly shows the state fee to incorporate in Tennessee with standard turn-around.
You will see the BizFilings and state fee, if any, for expedited turn-around.
Our pricing also clearly displays the BizFilings and state fee, if any, for issuing a Certified Copy of the Articles of Organization.
The LLC name must end with "Limited Liability Company," "LLC" or "L.L.C." It must be distinguishable in the Secretary of State's records from any LLC or assumed name of a domestic or qualified foreign LLC, a reserved or registered name under Tennessee law, or the name of a limited partnership or limited liability company. Use of the words "Bank," "Credit Union," "Mortgage" and "Trust" requires approval by the Department of Financial Institutions.
The following are Tennessee’s requirements for the members/managers of LLCs:
LLCs must have one or more members/managers.
Tennessee does not have a provision specifying where members/managers must reside.
Tennessee does not have age requirements.
Inclusion in the Articles of Organization.
Member/Manager names and addresses are not required to be listed in the Articles of Organization.
Requirements for the Articles of Organization
The document required to form an LLC in Tennessee is called the Articles of Organization. The information required in the formation document varies by state. Tennessee's requirements include:
LLCs must list the name and address of a
with a physical address (no post office boxes) in Tennessee. The registered agent must be available during normal business hours to accept important legal and tax documents for the business.
Some states require additional filings or steps at the time of incorporation, such as a county level filing, publishing notice of the LLC formation in a local newspaper or an initial report filing. Tennessee requires the following:
If the LLC’s principal office is in Tennessee, a copy of the Articles of Organization must be filed with that county’s government. If the principal office is not in Tennessee, no county filing is required.
forming a limited liability company (LLC)
, you must undertake certain steps on an ongoing basis to keep your business in compliance. These steps are also important in preserving the limited liability an LLC provides its owner(s). This guide outlines the ongoing requirements for Tennessee LLCs.
LLC taxes and fees
The following are taxation requirements and ongoing fees for Tennessee LLCs:
Annual report and franchise tax.
Tennessee requires LLCs to file an annual report and pay a franchise tax. The annual report is due on or before the first day of the fourth month following the close of the LLC’s fiscal year. The filing fee is $50 per member, with a minimum fee of $300 and a maximum fee of $3000. The franchise tax is due the 15th day of the fourth month following the close of your fiscal year. It is calculated based on the LLC’s net worth or real and tangible property in Tennessee. The minimum tax is $100.