Office Management & HR

Learn more about the resources available for Office & HR.

Georgia Minimum Wage Law

Filed under Office & HR.

Employers in Georgia must conform with these state rules regarding the minimum wage paid to employees.

The minimum wage rate in Georgia is $5.15 per hour.

Georgia's minimum wage law covers all employees with the exception of:

  • employers with sales of $40,000 or less or that have five or fewer employees
  • those covered under federal Fair Labor Standards Act (federal minimum wage rate applies)
  • domestic workers
  • farm workers
  • sharecroppers
  • land renters
  • high school and college students
  • those who receive tips
  • newspaper carriers
  • certain occupations specified by the Commissioner of Labor

In Georgia, a local government entity may not adopt, maintain, or enforce by charter, ordinance, purchase agreement, contract, regulation, rule, or resolution, either directly or indirectly, a wage or employment benefit mandate.

Need Help?


Our experts are always available M-F 8:00-7:00 CT.

800-981-7183
Cookies.com's Video