Office Management & HR

Learn more about the resources available for Office & HR.

Kansas Minimum Wage Law

Filed under Office & HR.

Employers in Kansas must conform with these state rules regarding the minimum wage paid to employees.

The minimum wage rate in Kansas is $7.25 per hour.

The federal minimum wage rate takes precedence over the state law in most cases. The Kansas minimum wage law generally covers all employees except those individuals:

  • employed in agriculture
  • employed in domestic service in or about a private home
  • who are bona fide executive, administrative or professional employees
  • employed as an outside salesperson on commission
  • employed by the federal government
  • who render voluntary service to a nonprofit organization
  • 18 years of age or younger, who are employed on a part-time basis
  • school district employees working in an executive, administrative or professional capacity during 50 percent or more of their working time
  • whose employer is covered by the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA)

Need Help?


Our experts are always available M-F 8:00-7:00 CT.

800-981-7183
Cookies.com's Video