Office Management & HR

Learn more about the resources available for Office & HR.

Kansas Overtime Pay Law

Filed under Office & HR.

Employers in Kansas must conform with these state rules regarding overtime pay for employees.

In Kansas, work in excess of 46 hours in a week must be compensated at a rate not less than one and one-half times the regular rate of pay.

Exemptions From the General Overtime Provision

Exempt from the overtime law are:

  • employees exempt from minimum wage standards
  • employees selling motor vehicles for a nonmanufacturing employer primarily engaged in selling vehicles to ultimate purchasers
  • prisoners
  • employees in agriculture
  • employees in domestic service in or about a private home
  • bona fide administrative, executive or professional employees
  • outside commission paid salespersons
  • those who render service gratuitously for a nonprofit organization
  • employees who are less than 18 years of age and employed on an occasional or part-time basis

Special rules apply to law enforcement personnel and fire fighters, security personnel, and emergency medical personnel. The special rules that apply to certain emergency medical services workers provide when an employer is not in violation of the law in circumstances where employees are employed over a certain amount of days or work over a certain amount of hours.

Need Help?


Our experts are always available M-F 8:00-7:00 CT.

800-981-7183
Cookies.com's Video