Office Management & HR

Learn more about the resources available for Office & HR.

Maine Minimum Wage Law

Filed under Office & HR.

Employers in Maine must conform with these state rules regarding the minimum wage paid to employees.

The minimum wage rate in Maine is $7.50 per hour.

Exempted from coverage under Maine's minimum wage law are individuals employed:

  • in agriculture
  • in occupations not subject to close supervision and in which earnings are derived in whole or in part from sales commissions
  • as taxicab drivers
  • as counselors or student employees under 19 years old, employed at camps owned or operated by corporations without capital stock and counselors who are under 18 years of age working at organized camps and similar seasonal recreation programs operated as or by nonprofit organizations
  • in the fishing industry
  • as switchboard operators in public telephone exchanges with less than 750 stations
  • as unsupervised homeworkers
  • as relatives who live with and depend on the employer
  • in a bona fide executive, administrative or professional capacity whose regular compensation, when converted to an annual rate, exceeds 3,000 times the state's minimum hourly wage or the annualized rate established under the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA), whichever is higher

The director of the Bureau of Labor Standards may issue special wage certificates to employers with employees who have a disability allowing employers to pay a reduced wage based on the employee's ability to perform required job duties in comparison with that of an employee who does not have a disability. The certificates are valid for two years from date of issue and may be renewed.

Need Help?

Our experts are always available M-F 8:00-7:00 CT.


20% off ADP Payroll Services

Manage your cash flow with ADP's payroll service. Includes direct deposit, tax filing, and general ledger interface.