Office Management & HR
Learn more about the resources available for Office & HR.
Filed under Office & HR.
Employers in Maine must comply with these state rules regarding the timing and frequency of wage payments.
Maine's wage payment law states requires that employees be paid at regular intervals that do not exceed 16 days, with a holdover of eight days permitted. Employees who are absent on paydays must be paid upon demand.
Wages must be paid on an established day or date at regular intervals made known to the employee. When the interval is less than the maximum allowed by law, the interval may not be increased without written notice to the employee at least 30 days in advance of the increase.
Family members of an employer and salaried employees are exempt from the frequency of wage payment requirements.