Office Management & HR

Learn more about the resources available for Office & HR.

Maryland Overtime Pay Law

Filed under Office & HR.

Employers in Maryland must conform with these state rules regarding overtime pay for employees.

In Maryland, employees subject to the state minimum wage law must be paid one and one-half times their hourly rate for hours worked in excess of 40 during any workweek.

Farm workers must be paid overtime for time worked in excess of 60 per workweek.

Employees of homes for the aged or disabled must be paid overtime for hours in excess of 48 in a workweek.

Exemptions From the General Overtime Provision

The following are exempt from the overtime pay provisions:

  • professional, executive and administrative employees
  • outside salespersons
  • commission only salespersons
  • persons under the age of 16 who work no more than 20 hours per week
  • persons who are at least 62 years old and who work no more than 25 hours per week
  • motion picture theater employees
  • members of an employer's immediate family
  • taxi drivers
  • certain agricultural workers
  • cafe, restaurant, tavern, or other similar establishment employees that sell food and drink for consumption on the premises and have an annual gross income of $250,000 or less
  • employees for whom the United States Secretary of Transportation may set qualifications and maximum hours of service
  • retail automobile salespersons and mechanics
  • employers subject to Part I of the Interstate Commerce Act
  • amusement park or recreational establishment employers
  • gas station employers
  • nonprofit home health care service employers
  • hotel or motel employers
  • restaurant and country club employers
  • certain not-for-profit concert promoter, theater, music festival, or show employers

Need Help?

Our experts are always available M-F 8:00-7:00 CT.

800-981-7183's Video