Office Management & HR
Learn more about the resources available for Office & HR.
Filed under Office & HR.
Employers in Michigan must conform with these state rules regarding the minimum wage paid to employees.
Michigan's minimum wage rate is $7.40 per hour for workers 18 years of age and older.
Michigan law is clarified to provide that employers currently subject to the minimum wage provisions of the Federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) are exempt from the state overtime requirements. Employees exempt from the minimum wage requirements of the FLSA are also exempt from state minimum wage and overtime requirements.
Employees in certain domestic services providing companionship services (other than live-in domestics), and those who provide child care services (other than live-in domestics), unless the person is under the age of 18, provides services on a casual basis, and provides services that do not regularly exceed 20 hours per week, are subject to the state's minimum wage and overtime requirements. Any right to overtime compensation that existed prior to October 1, 2006, is not affected by the change.
Michigan's minimum wage rate for workers under 18 years of age is 85 percent of the regular state minimum wage rate. Employers are permitted to pay workers under the age of 20 a wage rate of $4.25 per hour for the first 90 days of employment.
Employers of two or more people who are at least 16 years of age and who work on the premises of their employer or at a fixed site designated by that employer are covered under Michigan's minimum wage law. Exemptions apply to employers subject to the minimum wage provisions of the FLSA; persons employed in summer camps for not more than four months; and fruit, pickle, and tomato growers.