Office Management & HR

Learn more about the resources available for Office & HR.

Minnesota Overtime Pay Law

Filed under Office & HR.

Employers in Minnesota must conform with these state rules regarding overtime pay for employees.

In Minnesota, overtime must be paid at the rate of one and one-half times the hourly rate for work in excess of 48 hours in one workweek.

Exemptions From the General Overtime Provision

The following are exempt from overtime pay requirements:

  • workers employed under certain collective bargaining agreements
  • bona fide executive, administrative, or professional employees
  • seasonal employees in certain industries
  • taxicab drivers
  • babysitters
  • volunteers for a nonprofit organization
  • members of religious orders who serve in certain institutions
  • certain commissioned retail salespersons
  • employees installing farm equipment
  • certain parts employees and mechanics of trucks, cars, farm implements and trailers
  • sugar beet hand laborers
  • certain agricultural employees

Special rule for nurses. At health care facilities, overtime pay is due for nurses after eight hours daily or 80 hours in a 14-day period. (Action cannot be taken against nurses employed by certain health facilities based solely on their refusal to work overtime, where in the nurse's judgment, working overtime would jeopardize patient safety).

Need Help?

Our experts are always available M-F 8:00-7:00 CT.


20% off ADP Payroll Services

Manage your cash flow with ADP's payroll service. Includes direct deposit, tax filing, and general ledger interface.