Office Management & HR

Learn more about the resources available for Office & HR.

Missouri Minimum Wage Law

Filed under Office & HR.

Employers in Missouri must conform with these state rules regarding the minimum wage paid to employees.

Effective January 1, 2014, the minimum wage rate in Missouri is $7.50 per hour ($7.35 per hour for 2013).

Retail or service businesses with gross annual sales or business of less than $500,000 are exempt.

In addition, the minimum wage provisions in Missouri do not apply to:

  • agricultural employees or employers
  • executive, administrative or professional employees
  • volunteers
  • foster parents
  • employees covered by the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA)
  • camp employees
  • certain educational organization employees
  • handymen
  • persons with disabilities employed in sheltered workshops
  • domestics
  • babysitters and companions
  • employees covered by Part I of the Interstate Commerce Act
  • golf caddies and newspaper delivery persons
  • commissioned salespersons
  • federal employees
  • some retail or service business employees
  • prisoners
  • local newspaper employees

Need Help?


Our experts are always available M-F 8:00-7:00 CT.

800-981-7183
Cookies.com's Video