Office Management & HR

Learn more about the resources available for Office & HR.

Missouri Overtime Pay Law

Filed under Office & HR.

Employers in Missouri must conform with these state rules regarding overtime pay for employees.

In Missouri, a worker may not be employed for a workweek longer than 40 hours unless the employee receives compensation at a rate not less than one and one-half times the regular rate.

Exemptions From the General Overtime Provision

Exempt from the overtime pay requirements are:

  • employees who are subject to the federal minimum wage requirements
  • bona fide executive, administrative, or professional employees
  • volunteers in educational, religious, charitable, or nonprofit organizations
  • workers at seasonal day and resident camp and conference centers run by educational or nonprofit organizations
  • employees of an educational organization where employment is in lieu of tuition or fees
  • those employed on or about a private residence on an occasional basis for six hours or less on each occasion
  • employment on a casual basis to provide babysitting services, domestic service, or companionship services
  • employment on an intermittent or casual basis as a golf caddy, newsboy, or or in a similar occupation
  • handicapped persons employed in a certified sheltered workshop
  • commissioned salespersons whose hours and places of employment are not substantially controlled by the employer
  • certain retail and service employees

Special rules for amusement or recreation employees. Employees of amusement or recreation businesses must be paid one and one-half times their regular compensation for any hours worked in a week in excess of 52 hours.

Need Help?


Our experts are always available M-F 8:00-7:00 CT.

800-981-7183
Cookies.com's Video