Office Management & HR
Learn more about the resources available for Office & HR.
Filed under Office & HR.
Employers in Nevada must conform with these state rules regarding the minimum wage paid to employees.
Employers who make a qualified health insurance plan available to their employees can pay a minimum wage of $7.25 per hour. Employers who don't make a qualified plan available must pay at least $8.25 per hour.
A qualified plan must provide coverage for an employee and his or her dependents and the cost to the employee cannot exceed ten percent of the employee's gross taxable income.
Nevada law requires that the wage rate be adjusted by the amount of increases in the federal minimum wage or, if greater, by the cumulative increase in the cost of living.
Generally, employees in private employment in Nevada are covered by its minimum wage law except for employees who are under the age of 18 who are employed by nonprofit organizations for after school or summer employment or employed as trainees for a period not longer than 90 days.
Federal minimum wage rates apply to the employees exempt from the state minimum wage rate law.