Office Management & HR

Learn more about the resources available for Office & HR.

New Hampshire Minimum Wage Law

Filed under Office & HR.

Employers in New Hampshire must conform with these state rules regarding the minimum wage paid to employees.

The minimum wage rate in New Hampshire is $7.25 per hour.

Employees in New Hampshire must be paid at an hourly rate that is at least that of the federal hourly minimum wage. Certain individuals with disabilities may be paid a sub-minimum wage or no wage as part of a practical training/experience program.

Persons 16 years of age or under are exempted from the minimum wage requirement but may not be paid less than 75 percent of the applicable statutory minimum wage. Also exempt are:

  • those who are children employed by their parents, grandparents, or persons acting in their stead, who in turn furnish full maintenance to the child and spouses working for the other spouse on a volunteer basis
  • those engaged in household labor, domestic labor, farm labor, or as outside salespersons
  • employees in summer camps for minors
  • newspaper delivery persons
  • nonprofessional ski patrol
  • golf caddies
  • employees subject to the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA)

Hotel, motel, cabin, tourist home, and restaurant industry employers may deduct meals and lodging from the minimum wage allowances.

Need Help?

Our experts are always available M-F 8:00-7:00 CT.


20% off ADP Payroll Services

Manage your cash flow with ADP's payroll service. Includes direct deposit, tax filing, and general ledger interface.