Office Management & HR

Learn more about the resources available for Office & HR.

New Jersey Overtime Pay Law

Filed under Office & HR.

Employers in New Jersey must conform with these state rules regarding overtime pay for employees.

In New Jersey, work in excess of 40 hours in any workweek must be compensated at one and one-half times the employee's regular hourly rate.

Exemptions From the General Overtime Provision

In addition to persons working for summer camps, conferences, and retreats operated by a nonprofit or religious association during June through September who are exempt from minimum wage coverage altogether, the following are exempt from the overtime pay standard:

  • part-time employees primarily engaged in the care and tending of children in the employer's home
  • persons under the age of 18 without a special vocational school graduate permit
  • motor vehicle salespersons
  • employees engaged in labor on a farm
  • hotel employees
  • employees of a common carrier of passengers by motorbus
  • limousine drivers who work for limousine companies
  • employees engaged in the raising or care of livestock
  • outside salespersons
  • inside salespersons
  • executive, administrative and professional employees (employees who qualify as professionals and are paid hourly must be paid at least $27.63 per hour to qualify as exempt)

Farm products. Special rules apply to employees involved in first processing of farm products.

Need Help?


Our experts are always available M-F 8:00-7:00 CT.

800-981-7183
Cookies.com's Video