Office Management & HR
Learn more about the resources available for Office & HR.
Filed under Office & HR.
Employers in New Mexico must comply with these state rules regarding the timing and frequency of wage payments.
All employers are covered under New Mexico's wage payment law except those hiring agricultural and livestock labor and domestic labor in private homes.
Wages must be paid at least semimonthly on regular paydays not more than 16 days apart with wages earned the first 15 days of the month paid by the 25th of the month and wages earned the last half of month paid by the 10th of the following month.
If the employer's central pay office is outside of the state, wages earned in the first 15 days of the month must be paid by the last day of the month and wages earned from the 16th day of the month to the end of the month must be paid by the 15th of the next month.
Written agreements to pay monthly by the 10th day of the succeeding month is permitted where compensation is on other than a fixed cash basis.
Payment may be made at more frequent intervals.
Professional, administrative or executive employees (as defined under the Fair Labor Standards Act) may be paid once a month, except for employees whose salaries are subject to provisions of collective bargaining agreements.