Office Management & HR
Learn more about the resources available for Office & HR.
Filed under Office & HR.
Employers in North Carolina must conform with these state rules relating to the employment of minors.
A youth in North Carolina who is under 18 years of age may not be employed by an employer in any occupation without a youth employment certificate unless specifically exempted.
Certificates are issued by county directors of social services, subject to review by the department of labor. The commissioner of labor may require, by regulation, that the department issue certificates for occupations with unusual or unique characteristics.
Youths 12 and 13 years of age may be employed outside school hours without an employment certificate for delivering newspapers.
Employers subject to the state Wage and Hour Act must include ages of employees on records required to be made, kept, and preserved under this act.