Office Management & HR

Learn more about the resources available for Office & HR.

Oregon Overtime Pay Law

Filed under Office & HR.

Employers in Oregon must conform with these state rules regarding overtime pay for employees.

In Oregon, employees working overtime must be paid at a rate of one and one-half times their regular rate of pay after 40 hours have been worked in one week.

Special rules apply for canneries, driers and packing plants as well as mills, factories, logging camps, and effective January 1, 2012, boiler operators.

Exemptions From General Overtime Provisions

The following are exempt from the overtime provisions:

  • employees who work irregular or alternative workweeks governed by contracts
  • retail where more than half the employees compensation is in commissions
  • certain nonprofit and recreational establishments
  • certain aquatic and fishing operations
  • computer systems analysts, computer programmers, software engineers or other similarly skilled workers paid at least $27.63 per hour
  • occupations defined as exempt under the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA)

Rules for nurses and health care employers. When a hospital in Oregon learns of a need for replacement staff, the hospital is to make every available effort to obtain registered nurses, licensed practical nurses, or certified nursing assistants for unfilled hours or shifts before requiring overtime.

A registered nurse, licensed practical nurse, or certified nursing assistant cannot be required to work beyond the agreed upon shift, or more than 48 hours in any hospital defined workweek, or more than 12 consecutive hours in a 24-hour time period except that hospitals may require additional hours over twelve in certain situations.

Need Help?

Our experts are always available M-F 8:00-7:00 CT.


20% off ADP Payroll Services

Manage your cash flow with ADP's payroll service. Includes direct deposit, tax filing, and general ledger interface.