Office Management & HR
Learn more about the resources available for Office & HR.
Filed under Office & HR.
While changes in federal law grab most of the headlines and the attention, changes that can affect employers are constantly being made on a state level across a wide variety of topics. For busy small business owners, keeping up with these changes can be particularly challenging. Check the state-by-state list below to find out about recent changes in your state laws that may impact you and your business.
Arizona: Effective January 1, 2013, the minimum wage in Arizona will increase from $7.65 per hour to $7.80 per hour. Special minimum wage rules may apply for small businesses with annual gross revenue of less than $500,000.
California: Overtime pay exemption minimum amounts for professional computer software employees and physicians and surgeons will increase as of January 1, 2013.
Effective January 1, 2013, the personnel record access rules in California are revised.
Colorado: Effective January 1, 2013, Colorado’s minimum wage will increase from $7.64 per hour to $7.78 per hour.
The tipped employee wage in Colorado will rise from $4.62 per hour to $4.76 per hour for 2013.
Florida: The state’s minimum wage rate will increase from $7.67 to $7.79 per hour as of January 1, 2013.
Florida’s minimum wage rate for tipped employees will increase from $4.65 to $4.77 per hour as of January 1, 2013.
Missouri: Effective January 1, 2013, the state’s minimum wage rate will increase from $7.25 per hour to 7.35 per hour. Retail or service businesses with gross annual sales or business of less than $500,000 are exempt from the state’s minimum wage rate.
New Jersey: The procedures for obtaining employment certificates for minors are revised.
North Dakota: The state’s laws prohibiting smoking have been expanded per a voter-approved statutory ballot measure.
Pennsylvania: A new child labor act is in effect in Pennsylvania as of January 22, 2013. The existing child labor law provisions are repealed.
Vermont: The state’s minimum wage rate will increase from $8.46 to $8.60 per hour as of January 1, 2013.
Vermont’s minimum wage rate for tipped employees will increase from $4.10 to $4.17 per hour as of January 1, 2013.