Office Management & HR
Learn more about the resources available for Office & HR.
Filed under Office & HR.
Employers in North Carolina must conform with these state rules regarding the treatment of tips received by employees.
In North Carolina, the minimum wage for tipped employees is $2.13 per hour. The maximum tip credit is $5.12 per hour as long as the employee receives enough in tips to make up the difference between the wages paid and the minimum wage.
A tipped employee is one who customarily receives at least $20 in tips a month.
Tips may not be reduced by more than 15 percent under a pooling arrangement.
Even if an employee refuses to certify tips accurately, tips may still be counted as wages when the employer complies with the other requirements of the law and can demonstrate by monitoring tips that the employee regularly receives tips in the amount for which the credit is taken.